Using the National Standards

The National Standards for Involving Volunteers in Not for Profit Organisations represent best practice in volunteer management. The National Standards provide a model for supporting and involving volunteers in your organisation, covering eight key areas:

  • Policies and procedures
  • Management responsibilities
  • Recruitment
  • Work and the workplace
  • Training and development
  • Service delivery
  • Documentation
  • Continuous improvement.

Following the standards will ensure that volunteer rights are protected, that their role is clear and that they work in a safe and healthy environment. Many organisations use the National Standards as the basis for their Code of practice.

The National Standards are not mandatory. It's also worth noting that there is no 'one size fits all' approach to implementing these standards – it depends on the size and type of your organisation. You may wish to identify the areas that are of most relevance and importance to your program right now and focus on those – you don't have to start at number one and work your way down the list!

The National Standards are supported by an implementation guide, a workbook and resource kit.

Tools and resources